Home ACT National Awards

ACT National Awards

The Association for Commuter Transportation recognizes and honors outstanding achievements in the field of transportation demand management. The 2017 awards will be presented at the ACT International Conference in New Orleans on August 2, 2017.

Those eligible for the awards include individuals, public and private sector agencies, businesses, non-profit organizations, colleges and universities, business associations, transportation management associations and transportation providers.

Nominations must be submitted by an ACT member in good standing. Nominees do not need to be an ACT member. Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged.

 Click Here to Nominate!

A copy of the nomination packet and questions for each award can be downloaded here.

Nomination for 2017 ACT National Awards must be submitted by April 7, 2017 (noon EST)

The 2016 awards were presented at the ACT International Conference in Portland, OR on August 3, 2016.  Please view a complete list of the 2016 recipients.


Award Categories

Employee Transportation Champion, (ETC)

Presented to an ETC that best demonstrates commitment to promoting and advancing commuter transportation options at their worksite.

Marketing and Outreach

Recognizes four categories, (Public, University, Partnership, and TMA), that have implemented an educational campaign for their community that involves: commuting options, current transportation projects, impacts of transportation on the environment, etc…   The campaign must demonstrate a high level of creativity, generate a significant response and/or result in the rejuvenation of a previous/existing TDM program.

Commuting Options

Recognizes an exemplary program, policy, or service that advances one example of each of the following commuting options: biking, walking, public transit, carpooling, vanpooling, telecommuting, or shared use mobility.  Clear goals must be outlined and progress towards achieving them must be demonstrated.

Outstanding TMA

Presented to the TMA that best uses its public/private partnerships to achieve local or regional transportation goals.

NEW Outstanding Building/Development Award

The Outstanding Building/Development Award recognizes a multi-tenant facility that provide commuter friendly infrastructure, programs and services, and demonstrate clear metrics to measure reduction of single occupant vehicle trips during peak hours of traffic congestion. 

Excellence in Advocacy

Acknowledges the excellent advocacy efforts of an ACT member at either the local, state, and/or federal level.  The award celebrates effort, innovation, collaboration, efficiency, and effectiveness  of both individuals and organizations.

Excellence in Research

Acknowledges an ACT member or organization for their recent TDM research or research in a related field in which the project demonstrates applicability to TDM goals.  Collaborative efforts may be recognized so long as one member of the team is an ACT member.

Bob Owens Champion

Recognizes an individual who has spent years supporting TDM and therefore influencing positive local, regional, and/or national change.  Winners are those who provide ongoing influence and change, not necessarily just one major event or a year or two of events.

Cathy Cole Memorial Award for Telework

Recognizes individuals or organizations that advance strategies for increasing employer telework arrangements through one or more of the following:  facilitating business/ government collaboration, developing successful regional programs, improving job access, developing information resources, securing grants, sustaining interest within the TDM profession and/or increasing technical training opportunities.