Home ACT Councils Vanpool Council

Vanpool Council


The Vanpool Council of the Association for Commuter Transportation addresses and shares information related to vanpools, vanpool programs, public-private partnerships for delivery of vanpool services, contracting, program management, customer services, and promotional issues, among other topics.

The council has four workgroups that help address specific issues and concerns of the council members: 

  • Communications – providing vanpool-related materials to ACT for social media, newsletters, etc. 
  • Directory – collecting data/key performance indicators from vanpool programs
  • ACT International Conference/Training Sessions – coordinating vanpool specific training sessions for the annual conference, professional development sessions, or other training venues
  • Public Policy – representing  ACT Vanpool Council on the ACT Public Policy Council, reviewing public policy initiatives, and advocating for vanpool related issues

What is “Vanpool”?

Vanpool is “a transit mode comprised of vans, small buses and other vehicles operating as a ride sharing arrangement, providing transportation to a group of individuals traveling directly between their homes and a regular destination within the same geographical area. The vehicles shall have a minimum seating capacity of seven persons, including the driver.”  https://www.transit.dot.gov/ntd/national-transit-database-ntd-glossary

Why should you join ACT Vanpool Council?

Thinking about starting a vanpool program? Want to know more about tax-free vanpool benefits? Do you know how a vanpool program would affect your bottom line? Are you aware of the public policy activities facing vanpools?ACT’s Vanpool Council provides you access to other industry professionals and resources. Please contact one of the Vanpool Council leadership members listed below.

Meetings & Minutes

The Vanpool Council meets quarterly. Each meeting features speakers on various vanpool topics and includes time for questions and answers, workgroup updates, and a chance for networking.  View past minutes here.


For more information, contact the Vanpool Council leadership:

Lisa Kay Schweyer
Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission





Vice Chair:
Annette Harper
Commuteride – Ada Co. Highway District





Angie Wilkie
Valley Metro



Public Policy Committee Liaison:
Michelle Althoff
Enterprise Rideshare










International Conference Training Leader: 
Patty Olmsted
Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission



Communications Workgroup Leader:
Peter Williamson
San Luis Obispo Regional Rideshare



Directory Workgroup Leader: 
Annie Arguello
Capital Metro